Nonprofits Prominent In NYC Mayor Transition

New York City nonprofits have taken on a prominent role in Mayor-Elect Bill de-Blasio’s transition team. At least half of the 60-member transition team announced this week (Nov. 20) includes leaders from New York City’s foundations, religious and cultural organizations, as well as colleges and hospitals.

Jennifer Jones Austin was appointed co-chair of Transition NYC, along with Carl Weisbrod, a partner with a real estate and economic consulting firm, who serves as chairman of the New York State Health Foundation. A former senior vice president of United Way of New York City, Jones Austin is CEO and executive director of the Federation of Protestant Welfare Agencies.

Transition committee members are volunteering their time to advise de Blasio during the transition but are not seeking to serve in the administration. “These leaders are volunteering their expertise in every issue and area of municipal affairs,” he said via a statement announcing the appointments. Transition NYC will help the incoming mayor “to assemble a team that’s devoted to building one great city where everyone shares in our prosperity.”

Among the nonprofit executives appointed to the transition team are:

  • Darren Walker, president, Ford Foundation
  • Richard Buery, Jr., president and CEO, The Children’s Aid Society
  • Peter Madonia, chief operating officer, The Rockefeller Foundation
  • Karen Brooks Hopkins, president, Brooklyn Academy of Music
  • Herb Sturz, co-founder, Vera Institute of Justice
  • Rabbi Michael Miller, executive vice president and CEO, Jewish Community Relations Council
  • Kate Sinding, senior attorney, New York Urban Program, Natural Resources Defense Council
  • Bertha Lewis, founder of ACORN and now president and founder, The Black Institute
  • Arnold Lehman, director, Brooklyn Museum
  • Ana Oliveria, president and CEO,  New York Women’s Foundation
  • Rabbi Sharon Kleinbaum, senior rabbi, Congregation Beit Simchat Torah
  • Udai Tambar, executive director, South Asian Youth Action
  • David Jones, president and CEO, Community Service Society of New York
  • Oska Eustis, artistic director at The Public Theater
  • Dr. Conchita Mendoza, chief of geriatrics, University Hospital of Brooklyn, Long Island College Hospital
  • Dr. Marta Moreno Vega, president and founder of Caribbean Cultural Center African Diaspora Institute
  • Marvin Hellman, president, OHEL Childrens Home and Family Services
  • The Rev. A.R. Bernard, founder, senior paster and CEO, Christian Cultural Center
  • Dr. Steven Safyer, president and CEO, Montefiore Medical Center, Albert Einstein College of Medicine
  • Elsie Saint Louis, executive director, Haitian-Americans United for Progress, Inc.
  • Elba Montalvo, founder, president and CEO, The Committee for Hispanic Children and Families, Inc.
  • Imam Khalid Latif, executive director and chaplain, Islamic Center, New York University
  • Hoong Yee Lee Krakauer, executive director, Queen Council on the Arts
  • Dr. Marcia Keiza, president, York College, The City University of New York
  • Paula Gavin, executive director, Fund for Public Advocacy
  • Kim Sweet, executive director, Advocates for Children of New York
  • Jeremy Travis, president, John Jay College of Criminal Justice, City University of New York
  • Dr. Katherine LaGuardia, assistance clinical professor, obstetrics, gynecology and reproductive science, Mount Sinai Medical Center
  • Mindy Tarlow, executive director and CEO, Center for Employment Opportunities
  • Jukay Hsu, founder, Coalition for Queens.

“My charge to the transition team is to identify women and men from every part of our city and walk of life that share a commitment to progressive and competent city government,” de Blasio said. “They will be advising me based on their wealth of experience and knowledge of specific issue areas and government agencies.”

de Blasio defeated former Metropolitan Transit Authority (MTA) chairman Joe Lhota in November’s mayoral election after winning the Democratic primary in September against former Comptroller Bill Thompson and Council Speaker Christine Quinn, among others, without a run-off. The former public advocate for New York City is set to take office on Jan. 1, 2014, succeeding Michael Bloomberg, who will leave offices after 12 years.