IRS Appoints Advisory Committee Members

The Internal Revenue Service (IRS) yesterday announced 10 new members of its Advisory Committee on Tax Exempt and Government Entities (ACT).

The new members will serve two-year terms on the 21-member panel and be introduced at the June 11 public meeting, where the committee submits its annual reports and recommendations to senior IRS executives.

The 10 new members of the ACT are:

  • Exempt organizations: Amy C. Madsen, director of standards at the Baltimore, Md.-based Excellence Institute, a program of the Maryland Association of Nonprofit Organizations, and Andrew Watt, president and CEO of the Association of Fundraising Professionals in Arlington, Va.
  • Employee plans: Christopher W. Shankle, a retirement services specialist at Capital One in Shreveport, La., and Matthew I. Whitehorn, partner and chair of the employee benefits group at Dilworth Paxton in Philadelphia, Pa.
  • Government entities, federal, state and local governments: David P. Augustine, tax collector for the city and county of San Francisco; Dean J. Conder, deputy state Social Security administrator for Colorado, and Vandee V. DeVore, deputy state Social Security administrator for Missouri.
  • Government entities, Indian tribal governments: Stefani A. Dalrymple, CPA, of Yukon Accounting & Consulting in Fairbanks, Alaska, and Tino Batt of the Fort Hall Business Council in Fort Hall, Idaho.

Government Entities, tax-exempt bonds: Floyd Newton III, a partner in the public finance practice of Atlanta, Ga.-based King & Spalding.