Join The NonProfit Times: or Become a member

Subscribe: Print Publication or Newsletter

Stay connected.
Stay informed.

Nonprofit Mailers To Get New Leader

By The NonProfit Times - October 29, 2013

The Alliance of Nonprofit Mailers (APM) will have a new executive director starting next year. Stephen M. Kearney today was announced as the next executive director, effective January. He will succeed Tony Conway, who will retire at the end of the year.

The Washington, D.C.-based 501(c)(4) organization was founded in 1989 to represent the interests of nonprofit mailers on Capitol Hill, including before Congress, the United States Postal Service (USPS), and now the Postal Regulatory Commission (PRC). It has about 300 member organizations.

“The Alliance has successfully dealt with major legislative and regulatory challenges during Tony Conway’s seven-year tenure as executive director,” alliance board President Meta Brophy of Consumer Reports said via a press release announcing the appointment. She described Kearney’s “impressive background in various high-level” USPS leadership positions as ideally suited to be the next executive director of the alliance.

Kearney has served in a number of roles during his tenure at the USPS, including postal service treasure, senior vice president for corporate and business development, vice president for pricing and classification, and senior vice president for customer relations. He holds a bachelor’s degree in economics from McGill University, an MBA from George Washington University, and completed Harvard Business Schools’ Advanced Management Program.

Conway served as executive director since 2006, when he succeeded Neal Denton, who had run the alliance since 1986.


Stay informed, catch latest trends in the nonprofit space.

Subscribe to Our Free Newsletter

No obligation, unsubscribe at anytime.

Success! Check your email inbox.

Follow Us On Twitter


Woodbridge, NJ
45°F 31°F 48°F Cloudy
40°F 51°F Sunny

NPT 2015 Buyers' Guide

Newsletter Sign-up

click here to return to the previous page